Thoughts from one of my Father’s sons

So…

On June 9, I start a two-week intensive session of seminary classes. I am taking “Christian Perspectives on Contemporary Culture” and “Global Issues in Evangelism”. I am so excited to begin, but I am also very nervous. I haven’t really been a student since I graduated from College 11 years ago (some might argue, not even then!). I was accepted to the program the day after registration for summer classes closed. I had to pettition the seminary to be able to register for classes and then, I come to find out that there are five books for each class that I have to read before classes start. UGH! I mean, I’m a good reader and all. In fact, when I moved to Phoenix in high school I enrolled in Mr. Arthur’s AP English class and discovered I had to have read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn before school started. I ended up reading it on Sunday before school started on Monday. The whole book in one day! Anyway… you might guess that procrastination is a major struggle in my life, and you’d be right. Pray for me!

Last night at the Stirring, my brother Derrick spoke about, among other things,the faithfullness of God. I’m sure you have all heard the platitude that goes, “If God can get you to it, God can get you through it”. I hate trite, Christian phrases like that. In fact, I even have trouble with a couple of verses from scripture because people quote them like they are trite, little, Christian phrases. Romans 8:28 is the scripture version of the platitude I gave above. It reads, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” I have heard that verse quoted at me and at people I know and love my whole life. If someone gets fired or divorced or dies, you can bet some well-meaning Christian is there with Romans 8:28. It really pisses me off…

But you know what? It’s true. And it’s a very powerful statement. Read it again with my notes added:

“In all things (good and bad) God works (God is active, not passive!) for the good (the ultimate good, that only God can know) of those who love Him (something we can only do because He allows us to and gives us the ability to do), who have been called (chosen) according to His purpose (so much greater than my purpose).”

That is truly amazing stuff. Derrick said that the God who is faithful to call us out of the darkness and anonymity of our lives and into the light and son-ship of the life He wants for us, will be faithful to support us and love us and save us and strengthen us. There is an old praise chorus that is based on my theme verse (Phil. 1:6) and it goes like this”

“He who began a good work in you/ He who began a good work in you/ Will be faithful to complete it/ Will be faithful to complete it/ He who started a work will be faithful to complete it in you”

It is my prayer dearest brothers and sisters, mothers and fathers, sons and daughters, my sweet family in Christ; that each and every one of you will be strengthened by this word from God, our Father. That you will be encouraged through Christ, our Brother. That you will be sustained by the Holy Spirit, our Mother.

Thanks for stopping by. I love you.

SDG,
Matty

5 Responses

  1. “Be anxious for nothing, but by all prayer and supplications make your requests be made known to God.”

    You probably already know that Holy Scripture says that the Holy Spirit, Himself, will bring rememberance. And too that it is God, Himself, who gives promotion.

    God’s richest blessings on your journey!

  2. Matty, good luck with your classes – I truly believe that you will be terrific – most importantly – enjoy what you are learning and share it where you can!

  3. Matty, if you can’s shake the thought, maybe you could ask one of your Seminary teachers what they think about generational curses.

  4. You never said what made you move from feeling the verse was trite to something of value. We differ on our views of the literalness of Scripture, maybe that reflects in our views of how big God is.

    As I read Romans 8:28 I am struck by how God centered it is. I know His purpose involves me becoming more like Him (Christ-like). I also recognize that the caveat in this verse has to do with those who are to receive this work of God in their lives needing to love Him (Matt 22:37f).

    It is about our response. As we respond in faith and trust and surrender to a situation, that allows God to do that work of us becoming more like Christ.

    Yes, many people use verses like these like a band-aid without wanting to really be involved. But the truth of the matter is that Scripture is sharp and powerful…

    The Holy Spirit our Mother??? I don’t get that…

  5. M54 ~ as always, thanks for reading and commenting. we may not agree on many things, but I do appreciate you being engaging and thoughtful… I got a comment on another post the other day that simply said “you are dumb”. I am grateful to you that you always disagree with respect and grace. Peace be with you…

    littletiger ~ grace and peace to you, my sister! i covet and am grateful for your prayers and encouragements

    steve ~ peace be with you and welcome, brother, to my blog… all are welcome in the “Strange Land”! I am troubled that you are suggesting, in your first paragraph, that I have a view of God that is small… that is about the furthest thing from the truth. This is the God of the universe, creator of all things, He in whom all things are… definately not small! Also, I agree with you as to the power of scripture. It is the Word of Almighty God and it is not to be used like pop, “Dr.-Phil-esque” psychology.

    As to your last comment. The scriptures contain many referencences to the Feminine/ Motherly aspects of God. The use of the feminine word “Shekhina” in the OT invokes a mother/godess figure. Similarly, references to God wishing to gather Jeruselem as a “hen gathers her chicks” also speak to the female aspects of God. It only makes sense that the nurturing, comforting, soothing spirit of God be viewed as “mother” to Yahweh’s “father” and Jesus’ “son”. Just another way of viewing our triune God! Peace be with you, brother Steve, and again, welcome.

    SDG,
    Matty

Leave a Reply

