God has Spoken

I have been checking out books on Amazon which have been recommended by various bloggers, friends, other Christians, random people… and Amazon keeps track of what I look at. So, they send me recommendations of books they think I will like, based on what I have bought and looked at. Very nice of them, don’tcha think?

I got a recommendation for a book by Rob Bell (www.marshill.org) called Velvet Elvis. I read Rob’s book, Sex God (I think this is one of the best relationship books on the planet. Go buy it and read it with your honey!), and was very impressed by Rob’s thoughts on sex, GOD and relationships. So, I went to the listing for Velvet Elvis and was perusing it when I came across the following:

From the Back Cover:

We have to test everything.

I thank God for anybody anywhere who is pointing people to the mysteries of God.

But those people would all tell you to think long and hard about what they are saying and doing and creating.

Test it. Probe it. Do that to this book.

Don’t swallow it uncritically. Think about it. Wrestle with it.

Just because I’m a Christian and I’m trying to articulate a Christian worldview doesn’t mean I’ve got it nailed. I’m contributing to the discussion.

God has spoken, and the rest is commentary, right?

It was that last two lines which really spoke to me. I can’t wait to read the book.

That’s all I have. Grace and peace to you all.

SDG,
Matty

One Response

  1. My pastor at Genesis read this book and recommended it to everyone. Let me know what you think of it!

Leave a Reply

