Left Behind… again

Ok. I am not a fan of the Left Behind series of books by Tim LeHaye and Jerry Jenkins. I think they are poorly written and do nothing to further the faith; they are merely tools to get elitist fundie “christians” all riled up by the thought of all the poor “sinners” being left behind when the “faithful” are raptured. The last thing followers of the King of Kings should be excited about is the death and torture of their fellow man. But, fundie christianity (my use of the lower-case c is intentional, btw) is rife with this “us vs. them” philosophy. JESUS came to save all people, not just the ones that look like you, Fred Phelps. Ok, ok, to compare LeHaye and Jenkins to Phelps is going a bit far… maybe…

As if the books weren’t bad enough, I came across this today: A Left Behind video game. This is just asinine. For a description of the game, just read up on Grand Theft Auto, but instead of the characters beating up and killing prostitutes and drug dealers, they are beating up and killing “sinners” and the “anti-christ”. From the FAQ on the game’s official website (www.eternalforces.com):

Q: Are guns used by Christians against non-Christians? Why or why not?
A: The storyline in the game begins just after the Rapture has occurred – when all adult Christians, all infants, and many children were instantly swept home to Heaven and off the Earth by God. The remaining population – those who were left behind – are then poised to make a decision at some point. They cannot remain neutral. Their choice is to either join the AntiChrist – which is an imposturous one world government seeking peace for all of mankind, or they may join the Tribulation Force – which seeks to expose the truth and defend themselves against the forces of the AntiChrist.

I am deeply troubled by the fact that this paragraph doesn’t even begin to approach thinking about answering the question asked. The truth of the matter is, if reviews of the game are to be believed, this is exactly what the game is about. Here is a quote from another blogger’s review of the game:

Let’s see, The anti-Christ is spawned from DNA of two gay lovers. Nice. After the rapture, who gets ‘Left Behind’ you might wonder?

Well the poor souls that God didn’t care for are the: Catholics, mainstream moderate Christians, Pagans, Unitarians, Jews, Muslims, Hindus, Atheists, suspiciously well groomed men, lesbians, and conservative Evangelicals who are closet gays.

If they don’t convert, you get to eliminate the folks mentioned above with fire power from the state of the art military weapons you get.

These are “Positive moral elements.” (Mr. Lynch is quoted as saying. He’s the Left Behind CEO). But in keeping with gaming elements the player can switch perspectives and play the commander of the Anti Christ’s troops and feast on Christians.

I guess if Grand Theft Auto pisses you off create a game in the name of God so you can kill them.

Still trying to figure out the DNA from a gay couple though to create the Anti Christ.

What is going on here? Are we actually teaching our children that it is perfectly acceptable, if not encouraged, to take up arms against others in the name of CHRIST? This is AWFUL! And I thought Jesus Camp was the scariest thing I’d ever seen…

What are your thoughts, my faithful readers?

SDG,
Matty

7 Responses

  1. First of all, I loved the series. I didn’t get all riled up about those taken and those left behind. No, I don’t think they are the greatest books ever written but they were entertaining and kept me occupied with reading for many hours.

    Now having said that…. I hate that the “Left Behind” series has become a mill to turn out teen versions, study guides, clothing, movies and now video games. (btw – I hate it when any books get like that – Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings etc…)

    And finally, I don’t like any video games that portray violence on another human being (or animal). I don’t care what genre it is. Personally I think video games are way out of control as it is.

    To learn that Left Behind has a violent video game is just disgusting in my opinion.

  2. I think the series is nice fiction, but I do not think it lines up with biblical prophesy. It is a popular notion that the Roman empire will be revived, and the antichrist will be a european catholic. The whole series is based on the western society going bad, when the books of Daniel and Revelation point to a more probable scenario…the revived grecian empire ( with the teeth of iron – roman head). this new territory making up the beast is the current islamic countries, not europe. WHile people are waiting for something to happen in Europe, Islam is growing more and more dangerous. Maybe take a look at what I put together. It is just a thought, but maybe has some value.

    thanks
    marianne
    http://heavenawaits.wordpress.com/
    http://heavenawaits.wordpress.com/the-fouth-beast-of-daniel-and-revelation-the-antichrist/

    ps i have other stuff on my site too. feel free to look around.

  3. elitist fundie “christians”

    Isn’t that a contradiction in terms??

    And, there is significant debate over the theology underlying the whole series of books.

    A video game? My son got the Bibleman computer game a while ago. It was lame. Very lame. Somehow I suspect that Left Behind is about the same. I agree with Andi on disliking the mills that turn on once a series becomes popular.

  4. I see and hold to an Eschatology of hope, rather than doom. Reading this makes me sad and grieve.

  5. Oops…wasn’t logged in. Here I am!!

  6. […] Behind Game Review I posted a day or so ago about the Left Behind: Eternal Forces video game. Today, I found a review of it that you might find interesting, faithful […]

  7. Matty – I went to Wiki to check out the game – I really can’t believe that someone was so idiotic as to think that a game that pushes to “convert or kill” would be a good idea. WOW! So totally antithetical to what Christ taught!

Leave a Reply

