A poor orphan girl named Maria…

I hate cheesy, sentimental, over-done songs written simply to tug at the heart strings… you know the one’s I’m talking about… Proud to be an American by Lee Greenwood and The Christmas Shoes sung by Bob Carlisle… oh… and speaking of Carlisle… how about Butterfly Kisses? I hate being manipulated by these stupid songs.

However, there is a song playing on my local 24/7 Christmas music station that I just adore… it’s called The Gift and it is performed by Aselin Debison. Here are the lyrics:

The Gift

A poor orphan girl named Maria
Was walking to market one day
She stopped for to rest by the roadside
Where a bird with a broken wing lay

A few moments passed till she saw it
For it’s feathers were covered with sand
But soon clean and wrapped it was traveling
In the warmth of Maria’s small hand

She happily gave her last peso
On a cage made of rushes and twine
She fed it loose corn from the market
and watched it grow stronger with time

Now the Christmas Eve service was coming
And the church shone with tinsel and light
And all of the townsfolk brought presents
To lay by the manger that night

There were diamonds and incense and perfumes
In packages fit for a king
But for one ragged bird in a small cage
Maria had nothing to bring

She waited till just before midnight
So no one would see her go in
And crying she knelt by the manger
For her gift was unworthy of Him

Then a voice spoke to her through the darkness
Maria, what brings you to me
If the bird in the cage is your offering
Open the door, let me see

Though she trembled, she did as he asked her
And out of the cage the bird flew
Soaring up into the rafters
On a wing that had healed good as new

Just then the midnight bells rang out
And the little bird started to sing
A song that no words could recapture
Whose beauty was fit for a king

Now Maria felt blessed just to listen
To that cascade of notes sweet and long
as her offering was lifted to heaven
By the very first nightingale’s song

I admit… I can’t listen to this song without tearing up… but, I think the reason it doesn’t bother me like the others is this: I can relate. “Crying she knelt by the manger/For her gift was unworthy of Him” I know exactly what this feels like… I have nothing of value to offer my LORD. But, I give what I have… myself… a pitiful gift… nowhere near adequate for the ONE who saved me… and HE takes it and heals its broken-ness and makes a beautiful thing out of it… It’s amazing… in fact, the tears are starting again as I write this…

Lord, I have nothing… but it’s all yours…

SDG,
Matty

6 Responses

  1. I just heard that song on my local radio station, just 10 minutes ago. Touched, I ran inside to find out who sang it. I found your site, and your posting first. I heartily agree, I have nothing good to give but my own self and my every breath, each already given to me by Him.

  2. Thanks for sharing your tears, Matt.

    “And out of the cage the bird flew soaring up into the rafters……And the little bird started to sing a song that no words could recapture”

    How often I wish I could leave the cage to simply soar and sing for my King.

  3. Paul-
    Amen!

    Jeromy-
    My singing wouldn’t be a gift… it would be a curse! LOL

  4. But even the worst of singers sound great to their dad’s ears, no? Trust me…I just went to my son’s school Christmas sing-thingy…beautifully-cursed music, but beautiful none the less. So sing out, Matt!! Just shut the bathroom door 😉

    Felice Navidad!

  5. I first listened to this a few years ago, my daughter called last night about it and I couldn’t remember it.So I went on a hunt for it. When you have over 50,000 songs, is hard to locate with no name. My friend found this site and I knew right away it was the song. The only words my daughter remembered were Nightingale’s song. I went here and sure enough that was it, The Gift. Thank you so much for caring enough about this song to post it. God Bless you and keep it up.

  6. I know Christmas has passed, but I still have this song in my heart. I have searched the net for it, have not found it.
    When I found your website I knew this was the song.
    I have had the same experience as you have. I would like to hear it again or buy it. THE LOVE OF JESUS IS SO GREAT.
    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Leave a Reply

