Philippians 1:6 – Continued

At Scottsdale Christian, each day was begun with prayer and Bible class. I had good Christian friends and we all did what we could to encourage one another. But, we were all just kids. I don’t remember what church I attended while I was in High School. That is to say, my family went to PV Evangelical Free (now Shiloh Community Church) but, I don’t really remember anything about it. It didn’t make much of an impression, you might say. My life was filled with school and girls and girls and girls (those of you who know me/knew me will be either nodding and laughing, or shaking your head and judging me all over again)

After High School, I attended Westmont College, a non-denominational, Christian, Liberal Arts college in So. California. Westmont was great, but not so great for my faith or walk with Christ. Up on “the hill” we were insulated from everything going on and, as underclassmen are not allowed to have cars, on the hill we stayed. One Baptist church sent a bus up to campus every Sunday and I attended there for a brief stint… even singing in the choir. But, I was exposed to many more “liberal” ideas and people at Westmont. Let me say this right now and be perfectly clear, Liberal does not equal evil or non-Christian or even wrong; it’s merely a way of describing a person’s worldview.

While at Westmont, my faith lagged… faltered… fell… It was the “faith of my fathers” and not my own and so, I didn’t own it. I met Her while on England Semester and we fell in love. By the time the semester was over, we had pretty much decided we were going to get married. She had one more year @ Westmont.

We were married in April of 1998 in Phoenix. From the beginning, it wasn’t what I expected out of marriage. This isn’t a post about my failed marriage, so I won’t go into detail. Suffice to say, She wanted nothing to do with GOD or Church and, not being strong enough, I willingly went marching, hand-in-hand, 180 degrees from God, straight into the waiting arms of DEATH. And, I don’t blame Her. I blame life… no… I blame myself… sometimes…..

2 Responses

  1. Hey Matt – I have to say that I understand – I also grew up in a Christian household and when I got into college walked straight away from God. I didn’t want anything to do with Him for 4 years. All I wanted to do was party and have fun. And boy, did I pay the price. But now I have a stronger walk with God and I treasure everyday that I’m with Him now. I hope that you can move past the blame (it doesn’t help any). Good luck!

  2. Matt –

    I can’t say how important it is that you have come to own your faith. One of the things that is important in that is to acknowledge your mistakes. The challenging part is to acknowledge them without blaming yourself for them. Never forget that Christ died to forgive you for your mistakes (sins). While the effects of some of your mistakes are still there, the blame is gone.

    I can’t wait to see what God has done in your life since 1998.

    John
    john-simons.com

Leave a Reply

