Apple vs. Dell – a Fortune Magazine blog post…

Over at this blog there is an article comparing the Stock Market success of Apple, Inc (formerly Apple Computer) and Dell… as per usual, there are several comments and, as per usual, there are several idiotic comments… just wanted to point out one in particular:

You guys are stupid.

Apple is proprietary and not only make their own hardware, but also OS.

Dell relies on Microsoft OS. How can you blame Dell for not being innovative when it’s Microsoft with the OS. Hardware wise, anything an Apple does, Dell can do too.

On top of that, last time I checked, Microsoft OWNS the marketshare for OSes by a LARGE LARGE percentage. There’s reason for that. And it’s not because Microsoft had a monopoly on PCs.

Apple has been around for just as long as IBM has. You all think Apple is the god’s gift to computing when it was really only Mac OS X that changed Apple’s future. Any of you guys ever use Mac 9.x? Or like it? Didn’t think so.

You all hate Microsoft for one reason: because it made more money than you, your kids, or your kids kids will ever make combined. Microsoft did more good for the computer world than it did bad, by far.

And the fact of the matter is, 85% of you reading this are prbbly using a Microsoft OS. And only ppl that post are ppl that whine about M$ and PCs.

Notice how there’s a windows virutal box for Mac but no Mac virtual box for windows? WINDOWS OWNS THE MARKET. People need windows more than people need macs.

And for those of you who think Vista sucks, you’re way off. With a little tweaking, I have Vista running smoothly, and I love the GUI.

And don’t tell me the GUI was copied off of apple, because Mac OS X copied their GUI from UNIX.

Suck it up and live with it. God bless Microsoft.

P.S. It’s funny to think too that Dell was created by a kid in college, and now he’s worth more than you. You want to make a difference? Start your own computer company. We’ll see how far you get.
Posted By Nishant, Toronto, Ontario, Canada : October 8, 2007 11:10 am

here is my response:

wow… this is a response to Nishant of Toronto…

First of all, no one is stupid because of what type of computer they use. Second, Microsoft has a monopoly in the OS market because of marketing and because there isn’t real strong anti-trust law in the US, not because they have a superior product… I don’t hate Microsoft… I don’t use their products when I can help it…

Secondly, OS X didn’t copy their GUI from Unix. The first GUIs were developed in UNIX, however, Apple pioneered the integrated graphical OS with the Macintosh (the interface was, i admit, stolen from Xerox-PARC)… by integrated, I mean, the OS was the GUI… it wasn’t a layer running on top… Microsoft didn’t truly have this until Windows 2000 and XP… and they’ve only begun to approach OS X functionality with Vista… but it ain’t there yet…

Thirdly, my first computer was a Mac Classic II, running Mac System 7.5, 4MB RAM and a 40MB hard drive… and it was freakin awesome… i LOVED it…

Finally, I don’t have any problem with Bill Gates or Michael Dell or anyone else making more money than I do… Steve Jobs makes lots more than I do and I don’t have a problem with him, the Steves (Jobs and Woz) are my heros!

Present a cogent argument next time, ok?

Matt
mattythestranger.wordpress.com

cheers!

3 Responses

  1. I think it all comes down to preference. I started using a Mac in 1983! Some time in highschool I switched over to a PC w/Windows. Then, last year, I borrowed a friend’s Mac for a few months. While I did get used to the Mac I didn’t really care for it. I’m back to a PC and lovin’ it. I will say this – I HATE that PC’s come preloaded with an OS. I’d much rather have a choice of what OS and software I want on my computer.

  2. Andi-
    I agree with your comment about PC’s coming pre-loaded. I would love to buy a new PC and install Ubuntu or Fedora or Suse or another Linux… Dell is selling desktops and laptops pre-installed with Ubuntu now (in the US only)… I’m a Mac guy… I’ll always be a Mac guy… I have owned a pc running Windows98se (the only decent windows, to date, btw) but I never “loved” it. I just hope my fingers don’t burst into flame as I’m writing this on my XP machine @ work…

  3. Hahahaha – that’s funny – nice, well thought out retaliation!

Leave a Reply

