Ironman Saturday – 2nd Annual Chili Cook-Off!

Picture this… if you can…

Men… Meat… Peppers… Onions… More Meat…

I am so excited.  The men’s ministry at The Crossing is having our 2nd Annual Chili cook-off on Saturday, 10/20!  But, I’m having a small crisis of decision… what kind of chili to make????  Here’s what I’ve got so far…

(Any of these could be made with beef, chicken, pork, turkey)

Traditional Texas Red Chili – meat, kidney beans, tomatoes, cheddar cheese
Sonoran Green Chili – meat, hominy, tomatillos, jack/cheddar cheese
Southwestern White Chili – meat, navy beans, cream/sour cream, jack cheese

I have also been toying with a Baja-inspired seafood chili… it’s not a recipe yet, per se… just an culinary nebula in the universe that is my brain…

SO… I WANT YOUR COMMENTS!!!  I welcome any suggestions or questions or ideas or “dude, what the hell are you thinking?”‘s… ok?  Ok!

SDG,
Matty

3 Responses

  1. mmmm….seafood chili sounds good!

  2. What in the world is hominy???

    I think the white chili sounds good. I like white chili, and it is not run of the mill. But, if you ever put together a recipe for the seafood chili, I would be game to give it a try.

    Bon apetit!

  3. John-

    Hominy is made from corn, it’s soaked in a brine (i think)… very popular in sonoran cooking… i’m thinking the seafood chili will be lighter, broth based with just a little cream for texture… shrimp, fake crab, some tilapia… i’ll let ya know!

Leave a Reply

