Matty the Foodie

So, some of you may know… or not… I spent a year in culinary school and subsequently spent 5 or so years in the food service industry… I worked for a golf resort, a catering company, a retirement home and a preschool, all in the capacity of cook or chef…

Needless to say, I love food! I love to cook for my family and friends. I don’t have the patience or temperament to be a full-time chef.

“So,” you may ask, “what is the favorite food of a self-proclaimed foodie?”  Seafood, especially sushi… without a doubt, my best dining experiences have involved fish and lobster and crab and oysters and clams… whether it’s Brophy Bros. at the Marina in Santa Barbara, CA or a lobster shack on the coast of Maine, or my favorite local sushi bar, Yama Sushi in Las Vegas, NV… seafood restaurants make me HAPPY!  (If even one of you mentions “Red Lobster”, I’m gonna hurt you!)

But, that’s what I go out and eat.  What do I cook at home?  Lately, not a whole lot… since the separation and pending divorce, I haven’t done a whole lot of cooking.  Mostly Mac’n’cheese, ramen, hamburger helper… but that is all changing… I am picking myself up from my culinary despair, dusting the frozen food crumbs from my shirt, and embarking on a new journey I like to call, “Dinner for one”.

More later!

2 Responses

  1. Mmmmm Brophy’s…. yum!

  2. I’d love to see some more posts devoted to what you are cooking now!! (I’m so sick of Hamburger Helper myself.) I don’t really have fish much at my house, mainly because i don’t know how to prepare/cook it. I tend to be a meat and potatoes girl, lol. So, any nice easy recipes for a novice?

Leave a Reply

